mtbr member
    May 2005

help with a new bike

hey guys, i'm hoping you guys can help me out.

i'm a bike newbie. my friend gave me a specialized hardrock 02 about 2 months ago, but it got stolen just 2 days ago.

it was pretty nice in my opinion. not like i know much about it. except when i would go off a jump the chain would slip from the mid front gear to the smaller front gear. (excuse me for not knowing correct terminology)

anyway, i was sad when i found it missing this morning, but i guess it's my fault for leaving it chained up outside my apartment for a whole 3 weeks w/out using it. i guess somebody has been walking by or driving by seeing that it's been there for so long without any trace of an owner nearby.

so, now i'm in the market to buy a new bike.

what i will do with it:

ride it almost everyday through the city to campus for classes.
    take it out maybe 5-10 times a year to a dirt trail.
    i like to jump off curbs and go down stairs and little kid fun stuff like that.

my budget: 500. 600 if it's really necessary.

here's the thing. i'm still a noob so i guess anything would be fine for now. correct me if i'm wrong, but i guess what i should really make sure of is that the frame is top notch. is that right? because as i get better and better and more into it, i can go ahead and upgrade everything.... except the frame. right? (no clue just guessing)

so i'm looking for something that i can basically upgrade and still have a really nice bike a couple years down the road.

there are so many brands that i've been researching but it's giving me a headache. i'm beginning to think the brands don't matter and that as long as it's around the same price i'm going ot be basically getting what i pay for.

i've looked at:

giant
    kona
    novara
    k2
    specialized
    bianchi
    trek
    giant horse
    gt