Help me choose my first bike- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Jul 2011

Help me choose my first bike

Hello,

I recently got into MTB and I love it! I want to have my own bike. I'm going to buy a used bike below $1000 because I can't dish out more than that right now as I'm a college student. I want the bike to be good for all conditions/terrain. I don't see myself modding it so I want it to come with good components from factory.

Bikes I'm considering:
    -Giant Trance
    -Specialized Stumpjumper
    -Trek Fuel ex (lower models)

What bikes to you guys recommend me looking at?

Thanks

T.W.O.
    I don't know where you are but you can use this link to do the search
    http://bike.jaxed.com/cgi-bin/bike.c...=d&submit=+GO+

mtbr member
    Jul 2011
    Thanks!!

mtbr member
    Not sure that any of those are withen your budget, the cheapest trance (X4) is about 1500 at best without taxes, stumpjumper is about 2000 without. Before you start looking for bikes make a list of what you'll be using it for. For me it was a split between road and trail so I ended up with a hardtail since I had no use for a full suspension bike. Only consider FS if you're main use will be trails or off-road riding. If you're considering a hardtail take a look at the Giant XTC 2 29er - thats what I ride - though its around 300 above your budget. Also, the Cube Attention, Giant Revel 0, Felt Q620 or Q720 are also great bikes.