Help me build an awesome E-bike!- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Aug 2010

Help me build an awesome E-bike!

Hey guys I'm a long time reader first time poster!

Here is my current setup

You can read my build post on the end-less sphere EV forum!

Anyways this current setup sucks because it lacks suspension. I run the big 2.5 at 20psi, and they really soak up small bumps. But I need a front suspension for the time when I hit a pot hole going 35mph.

I want to integrate the batteries into the triangle for my next build. I don't have a car and sometimes have to leave my bike (and my $1000 battery) exposed to the elements while in class.

Also the handling is awful with 20lbs of batteries on the rear rack. And it takes up room for groceries!

Like this, but more bicycle and less motorcycle

Since I'm a college student I'm looking on craigslist for a perfect next bike:

1) A typical 90's mtn. triangle. With strait tubes! It needs to have a lot of room for batteries and electronics. Probably a 22" frame.
    2) Chromoly would be nice, since I'll be traveling fast and carrying 50lbs of batteries.
    3) Tire clearance for 2.5 hook worms + fenders. (They barely fit my hardrock)
    4) Disc compatibility, or cable stays for v-brakes. Although I could just run the housing all the way to the brake, so it's not a big deal.

It seems this style of frame went out of vogue before disc brakes became standard. That's fine because most of my braking is done though regeneration with the motor. But discs would be nice because it allows you to use different sized wheels. Smaller wheels are torquier, allow a low standover height, and make it easier to fit wider tires.

This bike is $150 and down the road from my house. But it only accepts 2" tires in the rear! Bummer.

This thread has some good discussion about FS bikes with center mounted batteries, and handling at high speeds.

But I digress;