Help getting started- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Mar 2007

Help getting started

Complete newbie to real mountain biking... Ive owned some department store bikes (including a JEEP bike if you can believe it, a "wrangler tsi") but nothing serious since the bmx bikes I used to have. Im trying to figure out what kind of bike would suit me best. Dropped my beater off to the local bike shop to have a rim straightened and found myself picking up a bunch of brochures on the way out. So far I've been most interested in hard tails. Currently own a full suspension and want something a little faster and lighter, and it seems a hard tail would be the right choice but I want to make sure Im pointed in the right direction... To be honest, I wont be spending a bunch of time trail riding (Im from ohio...) so the bike will spend at least half of the time on pavement. Still, I want a quality bike thats fairly light and nimble (for a mountain bike), not a big heavy clunker like what I have now. Any suggestions? Feel free to ask questions if I havent given enough info... I really dont know exactly how Id classify my riding habits though. When I eventually buy I doubt Id spend much more than 5 or 6 hundred, but could end up with something lightly used from ebay. Thanks for any help

mtbr member
    Mar 2007
    Got another question though while Im at it... Are cheaper disc brakes just gimmicky or worth it? What about mechanical vs hydraulic?

Nanook of the north.
    Mar 2007
    Although I am sure you are far ahead of me in terms of technical aspects of bikes, I am sure you will be able to find in some of my threads some of the answers you're looking for. I'm a new cyclist, and I'm looking to make my first purchase on a mountain bike. Unlike you, however, I am not looking to buy a new bike -- sorry, you said you are considering a used bike, my bad.

You'll find some EXTREMELY helpful people here willing to go out of their way to give you what you need. I wish you all the best!!!