mtbr member
    Feb 2018

Handling trouble on new bike

I just got my 1st "real" mountain bike (upgraded from a dept store bike) and I'm having trouble keeping the front wheel pointed where I want it. The main thing is that the front wheel wants to move back and forth when I'm pedaling in a straight line. It also seems to want to move outside in turns, but I don't know if that's the same issue or something unrelated.

I'm a beginner rider, so I'm not sure if it's lack of skill or something about the bike geometry, fit, etc.

Details about the bike (in case any of this is relevant)
    DiamondBack Release 1 (full suspension)
    150mm fork
    66* head tube angle
    1160 mm wheelbase
    40 mm stem
    780 mm bar

Any insight or suggestions? I want to like this bike, but if I can't get this sorted in the next week or so I may have to return it.

BOOM goes the dynamite!
    What you've got there is a VERY nice bike, but as you've noticed it handles differently than anything you'll find in a dept store. That's a good thing. The wheelbase is likely longer and your body position on the bike is different, which is better, but when you're not used to it this can be disconcerting at first.

The side-to-side wheel movement is normal for a bike with that head tube angle at slow speeds. It helps keep the bike more stable when going faster. With a little practice it's no biggie.

The turning issue - if I had to guess that's partially due to the longer wheelbase and mostly due to lack of familiarity with the bike.

If it's a fit issue, you've neglected to give the info that can help with that (your height and the bike size).

Whether it's the right bike for you...well, that's not so easy to answer w/o more info.

R.I.P. DogFriend
    I'd probably have to watch you ride to see your positioning on the bike.