First DH/FR bike...- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Jan 2006

First DH/FR bike...

Im relatively new to mountain biking in general, but can say that I am planning to do more DH/FR style riding than XC. I am looking for a good first bike that I can still take on the trails, and ride up the hills, but will keep me alive at Whistler. I have easy access to Banshee, Giant, Trek, Fisher and Jamis. I may be able to get some others, but its much less likely. I am looking at bikes under 3000, preferably around 2500 max, but may be able to go a little higher. High on my list is the Reign X1, but looking for other suggestions. I would really like to do some races, but thats not the highest priority.

I unfortunately do not have access to riding much, maybe some Treks, the Giants I can ride are Trance and Anthems. I live in the Midwest, so thats mostly what is sold and ridden, I am moving to Portland though, so want something more than what would be good here (if I was staying it would be a HT probably).

Thank you guys,
    Nate

edit: Typo
    Last edited by kikyomerc; 02-24-2007 at 01:29 PM.

Bike to the Bone...
    Quote Originally Posted by kikyomerc
    Im relatively new to mountain biking in general, but can say that I am planning to do more DH/FR style riding than XC. I am looking for a good first bike that I can still take on the trails, and ride up the hills, but will keep me alive at Whistler. I have easy access to Banshee, Giant, Trek, Fisher and Jamis. I may be able to get some others, but its much less likely. I am looking at bikes under 3000, preferably around 2500 max, but may be able to go a little higher. High on my list is the Reign X1, but looking for other suggestions. I would really like to do some races, but thats not the highest priority.