Entry to mid-level trail bike: any recommendations?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Feb 2007

Entry to mid-level trail bike: any recommendations?

Hey all.

I'm in the market for a decent trail bike that I can use to bump around the backwoods of upper New England. I'm pretty new to mountain biking, so I think it'd be silly to spend any more than $800 or so (since I'm probably not at the point where I could tell much of a difference between an $800 and an $1800 bike) but I also want a bike that I wont outgrow after this summer. I'm mostly looking at hardtails.. I wouldn't bother with full at this point, but I'd consider a rigid if it was a great bike. I'm 27, 5'11" 170 lbs in pretty good shape. What I'm really looking for is a great frame that I can beat the hell out of and not have to worry about, and some decent components that I can be happy with this summer and then maybe look to upgrading as I get more into it. Any suggestions?

Thanks, guys.

mtbr member
    Feb 2007
    Click on my name and click 'find more posts by aadosx' and read the threads that i have posted in. Lots of good info there.

If I was to suggest a Bike though right out I would say Kona Cindercone or Caldera if you want something just a tad on the beefier side, or a specialized rockhopper if you want something a little lighter and more for just cross country trail riding.
    Urban/XC/AM

mtbr member

mtbr member
    Feb 2007
    Quote Originally Posted by mrpercussive
    Ibex was one of the first I looked at, but I'm not thrilled about buying my first bike without trying it out and I can't find a local dealer that carries them. Plus, they seem to be going fast.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by Laerk
    Ibex was one of the first I looked at, but I'm not thrilled about buying my first bike without trying it out and I can't find a local dealer that carries them. Plus, they seem to be going fast.