Dual Suspension Help?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Sep 2006

Dual Suspension Help?

I guess you'd say im a noob to the mountain biking world, but ive riden bmx all my life. Im in the market for a dual suspension and look to buy come spring, but Im lost when it comes to finding what i want. I ride in the UP of Michigan and some souther wisconsin, I love single track and want to get into some more down hill but for now im all about the xc. Ive always riden GT for bmx and even a mountain bike so i naturally went there and checked out the GT I-drive 5 1.0, but im not sure about the quality of that bike. Other choices I have seen and liked are the Trek Fuel Ex6, Rocky Mountain ETSX-30(extremely NICE), Gary Fisher Hi-FI Plus, and the specialized FSRxc. The things that Im looking for are a good trail and downhill bike, I really like Fox Shocks only cuase ive had tons of problems with my rock shock, and a warranty. The bikes ganna have to last at least 6 years so i want good components and im tired of cheapos . Any Insight on any of this would help and if there another bike out there im missing let me know.

mtbr member
    Jan 2004
    XC and DH are not compatible. You either buy a bike for one or the other, but that's if you are referring to real DH and not just the opposite of riding up hill. If you are then any of the bikes you mention are good bikes and will ride up and down pretty darned well. The more you spend the more bike you get that you can adjust to your likes. So if you're really talking xc then make sure to buy the one that fits you best.

mtbr member
    Sep 2006
    Well the Dh im talking about isnt something thats huge, but im more thinking for 4-5" of travel

LBS Manager