Carbon?- Mtbr.com

Thread: Carbon?

T.W.O

Carbon?

This is a cross post from Weight Weenies.

Hello,

I am pretty new to the sport, I have been mountain biking starting this season a few times a week... thinking it might be time for an upgrade. I ordered my bike through my work so I got a Diamondback Response Sport at cost. It is all stock and I feel like it is pushing almost 30lbs.

I want to start upgrading my parts, my frame or just buy a new bike all together before next spring. I want to get a carbon bike, because I am a very small guy, I'm 5-11 but I only weight around 160lbs. I feel like having a lighter bike would help me immensely with climbing hills etc so I would like to get it around 18-20lbs.

I've been reading the forums and everyone really trashes the quality of carbon, saying it breaks quite easy etc. I do mostly cross country and tech. trails so nothing really downhill. At some point I would like to do some XC races. Is carbon really that bad?

-pat

mtbr member
    Nope
    Duct tape iz like teh Force. It has a Lite side and a Dark side and it holdz the Universe together.

AZ
    banned
    It explodes when exposed to sunlight or moonlight or something like that ............

OK , just kidding , plenty of threads on Carpet Fiber frames . Use due diligence and search and search again , buy from a reputable seller , make sure you get a warranty . Good luck .

mtbr member
    CF is fantastic but do you realize the cost of getting a carbon frame and full build weight to 18-20lbs? think in the many thousands of dollars range.

T.W.O
    Quote Originally Posted by scoutcat
    CF is fantastic but do you realize the cost of getting a carbon frame and full build weight to 18-20lbs? think in the many thousands of dollars range.
    That's fine, I'm only 20 so I have a long time to get there lol.

Doesntplaywellwithmorons!
    Quote Originally Posted by scoutcat