Cannondale Prophet vs. GT Idrive 4.0 or...- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Feb 2007

Cannondale Prophet vs. GT Idrive 4.0 or...

First of all, I know these bikes are not even close in price, but I am trying to decide if the price difference is worth it. I am just getting back into riding, and everything is changed so much. I plan on doing a lot of riding on trails in the foothills here in northern california. Eventually (this summer), I would like to get to the ski resorts in Tahoe. So here is my question. I could afford the Cannondale prophet 6.0, althought I hate spending that much. How much of a difference am I going to notice (since I am a newbie) between the Profit and something like the GT IDrive 4.0 and something like the IronHorse MKIII.

I am six foot, 215 pounds and really plan to get into this. The Prophet is going to cost about 1400, the GT is about 850 and the MK III is about 1100. Please let me know what you think...

Thanks in advance for your knowledge

Freshly Fujified

Welcome to the forums

Let's see if we can't help steer you in the right direction. A quick look at the specs on the 3 bikes and I'd say narrow it down to the Prophet and the MK III. The I-Drive just has too many entry level parts that will inevitably need upgrading. In that you have the budget to buy a better bike, I would suggest spending more up front as you will get more for your money if you buy the better bike now as opposed to upgrading.

I think the Prophet 6 and MK III Comp are pretty comparable. The DW-Link suspension on the Mark III is highly regarded, but I also feel that the platform shocks available these days have minimized the advantage of some of the patented linkages when it comes to eliminating pedal bob. I'd test ride both bikes and see which one you think feels better and make your decision from there.

Bob
    'If Wal-Mart sold parachutes, who would jump?' Frank Havnoonian (quoting his father) Drexel Hill Cyclery

mtbr member
    Feb 2007