Threading freely...

Buying used or new when on budget? What's a good deal? Any Bluebook out there?

I'm ready to buy my first fs bike, and my budget is capped at $2,500 tops. (Looking for something geared to Trail/AM.)

Would it make sense to get a "dream bike" about year old, or get the newest $2,500 bike?

One of the "dream" bikes was a Santa Cruz Blur LT Carbon '10. Would you consider buying one of these used, less than a year old, in a decent custom built over a brand new aluminum Trek Fuel EX8 or Specialized FSR Stumpjumper/Enduro, or Cannondale Rizes (or whateer else out there in the $2500 or less range)?

Is there any bluebook prices for used bikes or a general rule of thumb? How does one go about figuring out what a fair price is?

Thanks for any input. I'm still pretty new at this. Started MTB in April with a Spesh Rockhopper, and a 1000 miles of riding later, I'm ready for something less rattling.....

mtbr member
    With an aluminum frame bike, I would consider buying used. If you find one in great shape and the right size. I would not buy a Trek carbon frame bike used as I don't think you will get the frame replaced if it fails. I have seem lots of carbon superfly frames being replaced at my LBS.
    fesch
    Riding in snow is for the desperate.

TRANCER
    Like fesch said. Used i'd stick to aluminum. Especially for AM and or technical trails. Just my opinion.
    Ride

mtbr member
    May 2008
    What's rattling on the RockHopper? It's probably something that can be easily fixed...$2,500 bikes can rattle too.

Anyway, barely used on craigslist can be a great way to go because you can usually talk people way down. A lot of people make mistakes buying bikes and want to sell them before ever really using them. This is probably more so for the sub $1,000 range tho.

With $2,500, I'd look for closeouts on bikes at different bike shops across the country.