mtbr member
    Feb 2018

Which Bike Should I Get?

Ok. So I just started riding my local wooded trail. Itís a pretty good mixture of terrain. Some smooth, some hills, jumps, descents, climbs. I purchased a fezzari 27.5 hardtail and just not loving it. Iím not sure if itís the tire size or hardtail. It definitely beats me up pretty good on the trail. Today I landed and my handlebars came loose and I busted my a** lol. I weight 225lb so not sure if maybe a full suspension would suit me better? Anyways, I am looking at returning the bike I have and either getting the Giant Fathom 1 29 HT or the fezzari wiki Peak 27.5 plus full suspension. Any info or guidence would be awesome. I have been googling for the passed two weeks and havent really been able to find any answers. Also open to other recommendations. Both of those companies offer financing which I prefer so thatís why I chose those. Thanks

https://www.fezzari.com/mountain-bikes/wiki-peak

https://www.giant-bicycles.com/us/fathom-29-1

Barely in control
    The things that soften a hardtail are large volume tires at lower pressure, an aggressive position so all your weight isn't mashed on the saddle, and good fitness where you're putting down a lot of power and floating your grundle over the seat. Since you're new to this and kinda big I would recommend that full suspension. Aluminum frame will be fine.

mtbr member
    Jan 2012
    Your Fez doesn't have a fork meant for more than bike paths. The Suntour fork just has 1 spring inside. At your budget I'd look for a good hardtail. 29/27.5+ not just 27.5. That fs has another junk fork. Or as close as you can get. The Fathom has skinny rims and tires. A Trek Stache 5 would be a good choice. Wide tires and rims and a good Manitou air fork.

Life's a ride, enjoy it! Moderator
    Last years wonderbike is this years best deal, shop around for closeouts.
    Wanted, SRAM GX 2x11 rear derailleur

It ain't supposed to be easy.

mtbr member
    Feb 2018