Bike for a serious 11yr old XC rider- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Sep 2006

New question here. Bike for a serious 11yr old XC rider

I am new to Mountain Biking but my 11 year old son has been XC riding for several years in weekly races. He is presently riding a Trek3900 and is saving his money for a new bike since a) he is growing & b) the Trek is getting pretty beaten up.

Overall he is a small and thin kid but is on the verge of getting to a 15" frame size. He wants to think about a new bike for next year and in general I have steered him to look for a light hardtail. He is interested in saving money for $500-$800 bike, and there are some interesting end of the season deals we are seeing in our area.

Given this, does anyone have any thoughts or comments bikes below?

Specialized Rockhopper Comp Disc (rental, lightly used ~$500, the leading ontender)
    Gary Fischer Tassajara Disc (new only ~$800)
    Jamis Exile XC (rental, lightly used $825)
    Kona Caldera (rental, lightly used $600)

Freshly Fujified

All nice bikes

Quote Originally Posted by NewVTBiker
    Given this, does anyone have any thoughts or comments bikes below?

Specialized Rockhopper Comp Disc (rental, lightly used ~$500, the leading ontender)
    Gary Fischer Tassajara Disc (new only ~$800)
    Jamis Exile XC (rental, lightly used $825)
    Kona Caldera (rental, lightly used $600)
    You're looking at some nice bikes here. While I'm apprehensive about used bikes in general, the spec on the Jamis is very nice. Chromoly frame, X.9 drivetrain, Avid discs. Very nice bike indeed This would be my first choice if I had the money to spend, and if the bike was truly in good shape. The Rockhopper is probably the best bang for the buck of what's listed. If buying new is important, you're getting a nice price on the Tass Disc. personally, I'd skip the Kaldera. Weird component mix, IMO.

I hope I haven't confused you more.

Bob