mtbr member
    Mar 2012

Best trail bike for riding 7/10's for when you just want to go for a relaxing ride

I remember my old Trek Rumblefish - called it my Cadillac because of the comfortable ride. Sure did bob when peddling though. I've been riding a Pivot 429 Trail for a couple years, definitely a better pedaling platform. But, this bike likes to be riden hard. When riding at 9/10's or 10/10's the suspension eats the bumps and works. When just riden more sedately, it just isn't satisfying. More sag, less sag. More tokens, less tokens, I might be too light at 155lbs to get this bike to work right for relaxed riding. DW link suspension also is not the best design for comfort.
    I was looking at the new Cannondale Habit as it is oriented at more novice riders and has a four-bar suspension which should be more plush, but this bike seems to have no enthusiasm from the community.
    Seems like all the new bikes are being designed for long, low, slack and attack riding.
    Any suggestions on bikes I should check out?

mtbr member
    I've heard that the Giant Trance is on the more comfortable part of the spectrum.
    Riding Washington State singletrack since 1986

mtbr member
    Mar 2012
    Giant was off my radar - I'll check it out. Thanks for the feedback.

100% PRIME ALBERTA BEEF
    Quote Originally Posted by roadrider1 View Post
    I remember my old Trek Rumblefish - called it my Cadillac because of the comfortable ride. Sure did bob when peddling though. I've been riding a Pivot 429 Trail for a couple years, definitely a better pedaling platform. But, this bike likes to be riden hard. When riding at 9/10's or 10/10's the suspension eats the bumps and works. When just riden more sedately, it just isn't satisfying. More sag, less sag. More tokens, less tokens, I might be too light at 155lbs to get this bike to work right for relaxed riding. DW link suspension also is not the best design for comfort.