mtbr member
    Dec 2010

Beginner looking to buy first mountain bike

Hey all,

I have been saving up for about a year on whatever money donations I can get from friends and family on account of my birthday... Christmas...etc. and I finally have enough money to make an investment in my first bike.

I have been riding in Colorado, Virginia, and Florida, but will be in Florida and Georgia with this bike, so the trails typically won't be anything extreme. I am in a $600 - 800 price range. I'm 19 years, 170 lbs, 5'11''.

My only priority is to invest in a bike with a quality frame, and I will be able to upgrade parts along the way. Of course, I don't want to take it as far as settling for scrap metal parts just to get my frame.

I am just starting out looking for a bike, and could use suggestions on where to look for great deals, what bikes would satisfy my needs best, etc...

Thanks guys!

No longer a hardtailkid.
    Do you have any local bike shops that have mountain bikes, and if so, what brands do they carry? Are you in the Gainesville FL area?

Andy
    Quote Originally Posted by anthonys
    Its still just the push of a button away...
    I am no longer a hardtailkid. 2012 Trek Remedy 9!

mtbr member
    Dec 2010
    Haven't checked any local bike shops... but I do live in Gainesville, FL

No longer a hardtailkid.
    Well there's the "Super Cool Bike Shop" which has Cannondale as their main mountain bike brand and the also have Fuji. They have a bunch of Specialized stuff on their site, but they don't have them listed as one of the brands they carry (?). Oh well. Here are some good bikes that are in your price range from that bike shop: