Beginner: 1990 Cannondale SM1000- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Sep 2010

Beginner: 1990 Cannondale SM1000

I am just getting into mountain biking, and purchasing my first bike. Being a beginner, I'd like to keep my first bike cheap, and to do so am looking used.

I saw an ad for an old Cannondale:

Vintage 1990 SM1000 Cannondale Mountain Bike Competition Series for sale. Shimano Deore DX 7-speed w/STI Competition levers and cables I have NOT been on this bike in years, it has some wear and tear but all in all it is in great shape. I put 250 up there as a starting point but any decent offer will surely be considered. Thanks
    I am 6'3", 200 lbs, so I figured I would need atleast a 20" bike. I sent him an email asking the size, and his reply was:

I got the bike from a friend of mine so im not gonna lie i do not know the "offical" size. i am 5'10" and it is comfortable for me and when i stand over the seat it just about comes up to my hip so i would guess it is the 20" model.
    He also attached some pictures:

This is what I could dig up on the bike...

Do you guys think this is a good starting point for me, or should I keep looking?

Also, from his description, does this sound like a 20"?

Thanks in advance!

mtbr member
    As much as I like old Cannondales (I have a '93 R500 road bike) I would recommend against that one if you want to do any trail riding. The steep rear triangle of that frame design makes it ride *really* harsh. Notice how the rear axles are cantilevered off the back of the rear triangle, causing the seatstays to be closer to vertical? That makes for a vertically stiff frame with a harsh ride. Plus, I think you could do a lot better for the money. If you buy an entry level but more modern bike- say, a 5 year old Trek 4500 or something similar- you'd get a LOT more bike for not much more (if at all) money. Good luck!

mtbr member
    Aug 2010