any mechanical engineers in the house, got a ? for you- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

any mechanical engineers in the house, got a ? for you

im looking at the Reign 2 and the Pitch Pro, what do you see in these 2 designs that you would considered cons, even if its insanely slight. and im talking about jumping, reliability, active suspension, flex, etc.. anything you can think of. i really want to dissect these bikes

thanks

mtbr member
    Aug 2008
    One's black and the other is brown. Black bikes last longer due to the molecular structure of black pain, ie; KITT.

Picture Unrelated
    Variations in the welding of each joint are far greater than the design that is apparent from looking at two pictures. There is nothing inherently wrong with either design from an engineering standpoint (believe it or not, I have a ME degree). Just ride them and go with the one you fit best one and the one you like to ride most. The companies did their job, they're both sound.
    Don't you hate it when a sentence doesn't end the way you think it octopus?

All 26.5" all the time!
    The black frame is a Giant built frame with "Giant" decals, and the brown frame is a Giant built frame with "Specialized" decals.

T.W.O.
    I do have opinion about these 2 frames pros and cons. As I own the Reign and rode pitch a few times back to back. Unfortunately, I don't have ME Degree yet. Can't offer expert in depth analysis.

mtbr member
    the giaant has the maestro supension

both are faux bar types , but the maestro moves one of the pivot points closer to the others, making the reponce llinear , an inprovoing pedaling, cause it a takes a lil more force to "break" the suspensions geometry, it like the suspension has propedal built in, the wheel also moves almost vertically.

the specialized has a more standard faux bar desing, there the wheel moves in a curve to wards the seat. but has the more familiar reponse,