2019 RSD Middle Child Thoughts?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Jan 2019

2019 RSD Middle Child Thoughts?

Hi! I am new to MTB and have been researching bikes for a couple months. I have narrowed it down to the RSD Middle Child. I was previously going back and forth bewteen the Santa Cruz Chameleon R+ and the Whyte 905, but there were a couple things I didn't like about each of those. The RSD MC seems to combine the things I liked most about each bike. It takes the short, adjustable chainstays and cool looks from the Chameleon and the slack HT angle/steep ST angle from the 905. The wheelbase and reach are right in between the two bikes which is what I wanted. Also, the components are much much better than both other bikes. And of course, it's steel, so it should be a smoother ride. The only thing I am worried about is the weight. It is 30.5lbs with a dropper, but I could take off about a pound if I put on a 2.6" recon and high roller II. The total price would be $2660 (after a 5% discount) which isn't that much more than the SC, which comes out to about $2500 w/ tax. So I have two questions:

1. What are your opinions on the RSD MC as an all mountain bike?
    2. Would you recommend swapping out the 2.8" minions with the tires I mentioned above?

• https://rsdbikes.com/portfolio/middlechild-cr-mo/
    • Main Features:
      • Chromoly Steel
      • HT angle: 64.5 degrees
      • ST angle: 74 degrees
      • Chainstay: 415 - 430
      • BB height: 320
      • Reach: 465 (large)
      • Wheelbase: 1203 (large)
      • Fork: Rockshox Pike RC 140mm
      • Cockpit: Raceface Turbine
      • Drivetrain: Shimano XT
      • Brakes: Shimano XT
      • Dropper: KS Lev Integra
      • Tires: Maxxis Minion DHF & DHR II sC Maxx Terra EXO TR (27.5" x 2.8")
      • Complete Bike Weight: 30.5 lbs

I

Sir Shreds-A-Lot