mtbr member
    Aug 2009

yet another bike size questions

I am 28 and just started riding again about 7 mo ago. I bought my first nice bike when I was a freshman in high school. I was about 5 feet tall then, but the bike seemed to still fit me now that I am 5-9. I just bought a newer hard tail, and I got about the same size because it felt right to me. It is a medium, or 17.5. I have started to look at road bikes a little, that and as I have been adjusting my seat height a little, I realized I am pretty close to the end of the seat post. I think I need to move up to a large bike.

MTB skillz = NADA
    Quote Originally Posted by rockyrunner99
    I am 28 and just started riding again about 7 mo ago. I bought my first nice bike when I was a freshman in high school. I was about 5 feet tall then, but the bike seemed to still fit me now that I am 5-9. I just bought a newer hard tail, and I got about the same size because it felt right to me. It is a medium, or 17.5. I have started to look at road bikes a little, that and as I have been adjusting my seat height a little, I realized I am pretty close to the end of the seat post. I think I need to move up to a large bike.
    Or get a longer seatpost. If everything else fits and feels right...just go with a longer seatpost. You should be fine with a medium frame at your height.
    Since I don't like writing, I don't have a blog to pimp. This space for rent.

mtbr member
    Feb 2010
    Yeah, you definitely don't want to be riding at the end of the seat post's length--there needs to be some length down the tube.

mtbr member
    Aug 2009
    I have about 2 inches in the frame. I think riding this bike is safe, I was just thinking a larger bike might be more comfortable, or easier to ride or something. I have never really ridden a larger bike, I guess I will have to try one sometime.

mtbr member
    Mar 2008
    Quote Originally Posted by rockyrunner99