Whats a normal average speed?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    May 2012

Whats a normal average speed?

I know it depends on all kinds of variables... But my wife is a runner and I am brand new to mountain biking. I just finished a ride and was feeling pretty good about it. She started laughing at me and saying that she could run it almost as fast. (she frequently runs the same trails).

I rode 7 miles with 242 feet of vertical climb and averaged 6.3 MPH with lots of twists and turns.

I still feel pretty good about the ride and told her I am confident I could smoke her if she was on a bike. Just wondering...

mtbr member
    You'll get a lot faster. I'm really overweight and I average about 10-12 mph on singletrack. Granted, it's on Texas trails, but I was probably close to the same average when I lived in Utah and did rides with a thousand feet of climbing. I'm really looking forward to being one of those fat guys who isn't fast, but isn't slow either, and drops a bunch of weight and is really fast. (Holy run-on batman)
    "So let's recap here:
    You asked a question.
    You got an answer.
    You proceed to make an ass out of yourself."

Enthusiast
    I would bet I am little different from the OP. If I had to guess, I would guess I average around 7mph, and that's on a good day.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk. Typos and terseness are to be expected.

mtbr member
    Jun 2011
    I am up there too, on the main trial I ride right now, I am averaging about 10-12MPH. Granted it is paved asphault and mostly straight with few smallish minor "hills" and a few turns with long straight sections between the turns, but this is only my 2nd year riding since I was in High School and I am 33 now. In addition, I do ride with 3 of my 4 kids. Once in a while I will sprint, but average pace is right around 10-12 MPH.

The Unaffiliated
    Oct 2009
    I track every ride for my own amusement. I don't worry much about average pace because there are some many variables.