What size spoke for 26inch mtb wheel- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Apr 2020

What size spoke for 26inch mtb wheel

Hi
    i am a newbie having just bought a used mountain bike, it has a broken spoke in the rear wheel on drive side, which I want to renew, but Iím not sure what size spoke it is.
    The wheel is 26inch, how do I find out what size spoke is needed, I am uploading a pic of the front wheel, thanks
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails What size spoke for 26inch mtb wheel-63e09ff1-d869-4ee2-9e09-78fa847e0041.jpg  

since 4/10/2009
    you have to measure it

mtbr member
    Apr 2020
    Quote Originally Posted by Harold View Post
    you have to measure it
    Ok thanks Harold

mtbr member
    you have to measure it and get within 1mm of accurate for the replacement spoke to work. spokes typically come in size intervals of 1mm.

if it's too long, the nipple might not be able to thread on all the way and the spoke will stick out into the rim and puncture the tube. too short and the nipple will not fully engage the spoke and the nipple will break.

I would take it to a shop and have them measure it and make sure you buy exactly the correct length. they should have a special ruler that makes this more accurate.

mtbr member
    Aug 2019
    Different rims have different internal diameters and so do hubs by brand and models which is why there is nobody who could guess what size spoke you will need. The only thing we can tell you is that is a 3x lacing pattern.

Harold wasn't off by his suggestion, you could measure the broken spoke or one of the existing one from the same side the broken one was on and hopefully you're measurement is good to within 1mm.

Best bet is to take it into a shop and have them replace it for you unless you're savvy with truing your wheel with the new spoke.

EAT MORE GRIME
    "Put your seatbelt back on or get out and sit in the middle of that circle of death." - Johnny Scoot

mtbr member
    Apr 2020