What does the rise on a handlebar translate to on the trail?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Aug 2011

New question here. What does the rise on a handlebar translate to on the trail?

Guys, I just got a Sunline V1 OS Handlebar 31.8/38mm/711mm for what I think was a great deal on Chainlove ($34.99). Anyways, that got me thinking, because I have been looking at alot of bars and was wondering, how does the rise on the bars affect your ride? I am new to MB'ing and was seriously wondering about this. Any incite would be nice. Just trying to understand all aspects of MB'ing one part at a time.

Thanks.

Don't know if it matters but I have a Scott Aspect 55. Localy trails consist of XC and AM here in El Paso, TX.

mtbr member
    Aug 2011
    Sorry guys for posting thread twice.

R.I.P. DogFriend
    A simplified view, as there are many factors that go into getting the most from your bike:

There are three main points of contact between the rider and the bike. The pedals, the grips (on the handlebar), and the saddle. The first part of the fit that should be worked out is the relationship between the pedals and the saddle for both height and fore/aft adjustments. Then, the level of the saddle. Once that is worked out, then the relationship to the grips is next.

The rise is one of the ways you can get the position of the grips to end up where you want them with regards to height.

Many different factors can come into play with regard to making the fit work for you and sometimes small changes can make a signicant difference, both good and bad. I generally recommend making one change at a time so that if changes have negative results, you'll know which change it is that needs refinement.

mtbr member
    Good advice jeff.