Weight reduction- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Dec 2012

Weight reduction

Even after working towards getting myself back in shape my bike is still too much on the heavy side. It weighs somewhere between 34-36lbs (not exactly sure) what could I do to shave weight and not break my bank. I was thinking a new saddle as I don't like my current one for comfort and its too heavy. But what else could I do?

mtbr member
    Aug 2011
    Ouch, that is heavy.

What bike is it?

To start, you should get a gram scale of some kind then weigh different components to see what weighs what so you can shop around and see how much weigh you can drop where and for how much.

My 2011' Hardrock was heavy in
    Wheels
    Bars
    Stem
    Fork

Your saddle could be heavy too, as well as the seatpost. Weigh them and find out!!

I like turtles
    What bike is it? Gram scales aren't going to make a f-all of difference here, it should be obvious when you list what bike you have.
    Geologist by trade...bicycle mechanic (former) by the grace of God!

2018 Niner RKT 9 RDO - enduro AF

mtbr member
    Dec 2012
    1999 Raleigh M30 (not an amazing bike but cant afford to buy a new one for a couple years) I know the seat post isn't heavy ive taken it out before, but the seat has to weigh at least 2 pounds. Other than that not sure what anything weighs besides the fork being heavy but not worth it to replace.

mtbr member
    Aug 2011
    Well if you don't know the weight of what you are trying to replace to drop weight...then you are just shopping blind and could end up with something with little weight dif., same weight, or heavier.

I went through exactly what this person wants to do, and the grams scale was the best tool. Otherwise it was pointless since it was a guessing game without it...and it's also part of the fun.

In his case because of the age and level....there could be some heavy stuff on there haha.

mtbr member
    Aug 2011
    Quote Originally Posted by sfb12 View Post