Tool

We the people ... Watch me shop for a bike

Over the next year or so, I'm shopping for a new mountain bike. If there's enough interest, I'll be updating this thread occasionally with reflections, insights and updates on my bike buying process. I'm not a beginner, but I think this could be useful. It's not the way everyone does it, it's not the way I always do it, but I hope you can learn along with me.

Broadly speaking, I start with what I know I want, identify what I don't know about, ride as many bikes as I can, and then make the best decision for me. The first time I bought a mountain bike, I got a screamin' deal, but the bike was too small. I still ride some of those original components, but most got replaced bit by bit. I need to replace enough now that I think the best thing to do is to buy a new complete bike.

What I want: Hardtail 29er from a local shop. These are my only two absolute requirements. I've ridden enough mountain bikes that I have a lot more options fit wise with a stock 29er. I'm a tall guy with quirky preferences. I've ridden a few 29ers and I like the way they handle my style of riding. I've been out of the bike industry long enough that I want to rely on the support a shop can give me. I can find great deals anywhere, but dealing with a shop will give me a bit more confidence.

I've assembled a short list of bikes that I think are close to what I like. Now, I need to find shops in the area that carry them and will let me ride them. The challenge is that it's rare that shops have an XL available for an off-road demo.

You might have noticed that I haven't made any component choices yet, or named a price range. I do have rough ideas about both of them. Component choices aren't important above a certain level. Once I get to reliable performance, I'm not going to worry about weight or "race-ready" stuff. SRAM x-7 is fine. Deore is fine. What I end up with, who knows?