mtbr member

V-brake levers on cantaliever brakes?

I just picked up an older Stuntjumper and it has the original brakes.... no cables, levers etc. I am going to make this my singe speed bike. I have most the parts needed already to keep it affordable. But the only extra levers I have are initially for v-brakes.... what problems will this cause?

mtbr member
    Oct 2008
    I'm no expert on brakes but it doesn't seem like there would be a problem. Brake levers simply pull the cable back and forth. Both v-brakes and canti's work on that principle.

mtbr member
    That's what I am guessing also....

At Work
    Quote Originally Posted by jc99
    I'm no expert on brakes but it doesn't seem like there would be a problem. Brake levers simply pull the cable back and forth. Both v-brakes and canti's work on that principle.
    Then explain the reasoning behind the two different types using different levers then. The amount of pull required is different..........

mtbr member
    Oct 2008
    Quote Originally Posted by sxr-racer
    Then explain the reasoning behind the two different types using different levers then. The amount of pull required is different..........
    Again, I'm no expert, but couldn't you adjust the pad spacing from the rim to get the proper reach you want? Probably won't get optimal modulation though.

edit: Here's some google'd info:

http://www.ridemonkey.com/forums/showthread.php?t=77743

It would "work", but it won't give you optimal use of the brakes. Looks like it would give you very little stopping power in your situation.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by jc99
    Again, I'm no expert, but couldn't you adjust the pad spacing from the rim to get the proper reach you want? Probably won't get optimal modulation though.

edit: Here's some google'd info:

http://www.ridemonkey.com/forums/showthread.php?t=77743