Upgrade or buy a new bike- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Apr 2010

Upgrade or buy a new bike

I picked up a secondhand Specialized Hardrock GX rigid last year and began riding. It's in nice shape and I'm fairly happy with it but find myself wanting a new bike. My budget for a new bike is about $350. The other option is upgrading my existing bike's factory components. What do you guys think? I'm very new to this so any input is greatly appreciated.

Pedro

fyi, I ride mostly paved trails but want to try getting into off-road trails.

mtbr member
    May 2005
    That is a good bike. Maintain it.

as far as upgrading... whether you wish to ride a rigid or a suspension fork, 350 will get you a complete and nice used bike with some looking.

local jackass
    i would upgrade and ride it until ur budget is better
    His
    2010 FSR XC
    2010 ALLEZ
    Hers
    2012 Myka 29'r
    2009 Cannondale Synapse 5
    Down East Cyclists

Bike builder
    Agree with the first reply. The Hardrock is a decent frame and if it fits you and you are happy with it then I would gradually go about upgrading the parts as the wear out.

For your 350 I would get an entry level suspension fork (something like a RockShox Tora or Marzocchi 22) as the difference even a basic fork makes off-road is incredible. Then if you've got V-brakes, I'd get a front disc brake (something like a Shimano SLX) and with whatever change you have left get a new chain and cassette if the old ones are worn. To save even more money, do all the work yourself, and don't bother with the bike shop.

Best of luck!
    Free bike maintenance videos every two weeks!
    BuildYourBicycle.com video podcast

mtbr member
    Apr 2010
    It's a good idea to upgrade, one reason being the experience you will gain doing the work yourself, and learning how each component will affect your ride.