mtbr member
    Feb 2018

Tubeless install

I've never done one before. Had the lbs do my tubeless conversion. However, I'm in the process of putting on new tires and figured I'd try to tackle it myself. I have the tires on the rim, but before wasting my sealant, I figured I'd try to make sure my adaptor for my compressor would work. It doesn't even come close to getting the bead to seat. Do you have to have sealant in there to get any kind of seal at all? It seemed like the air was just blowing straight through when I did a dry test run. I figured it would at least blow the tire up a little bit with no sealant, but it didn't even hold the slightest amount of air.

mtbr member
    I always inflate the tire and seat the bead before putting the sealant in, way cleaner and easier ime.

Did you remove the valve core? Definitely you'll move a lot more air without it and the tire will seat much more easily.
    I brake for stinkbugs

mtbr member
    Feb 2018
    I did remove the core. Shot air into the stem with a rubber tipped air gun. Maybe my small air compressor doesn't move enough air.

mtbr member
    Even a comperssor with a small storage tank should work fine. I'm guessing you're tires and rims are tubeless ready?

As mentioned mine hold fine without sealant, I haven't tried it but I could probably ride them that way.
    I brake for stinkbugs

mtbr member
    As J.B said, definitely need to remove the valve core to get enough air volume in to seat the bead. Depending on what the rim/tyre combo is, you can actually go around the wheel and pull most of the tyre bead up onto the rim bead to help sealing. If you have trouble still, install with a tube, then break the deal on one side and remove the tube, then you only have to fight with one bead to get seated. LOTS of good videos on YouTube, check the Park Tools.
    One day your life will flash before your eyes, will it be worth watching??

since 4/10/2009