Total beginner questions- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Apr 2015

Total beginner questions

Hey everyone!

So, just want to start out by saying that I am totally new to this sport and I am not exactly sure what kind of bike I need to buy to have a good time. I am 19 years old, 5' 11" 195 lbs (looking to loose weight as well ;D) I am also a college student at the moment, so my budget isn't the biggest right now. I'm looking at $250-$500 MAX. Hoping to stay more towards the lower end of my budget, but if needed I will have to spend more.

I'm looking for a bike that I will be able to take to the hills around me, I live in the Santa Cruz, CA area. I think that my riding style will be more towards trails and unpaved roads.

Now, there are just so many bikes out there for me to choose from. I was looking at a hardtail 27.5/650B. With a frame size of 19.

What kind of pointers could you give me to buy the best possible bike for my budget? Maybe even throw out some names of bikes for me?

I'm looking to buy a mountain bike before the beginning of the summer, so that I can hit the trails soon!

Thanks ahead of time!!

mtbr member
    Jan 2012
    You will do best used and 29. A 27.5 hardtail is necessary only for a person much shorter than you are. Every rider, even the winning women at the USCup XC races at Fontana 10 days ago competed on a 29 bike. You can watch the races on YouTube.
    If you can find something with an air fork or at least a spring fork with rebound damping you will be good for trail riding.
    A used 2012 or 13 Trek X-Caliber is one to look for.

mtbr member
    Apr 2015
    Ah okay, interesting. I have just read online that people don't like how "sluggish" it feels to ride a 29er. Is that just because they don't like how big the tires are?

Also, the bike you had mentioned is just a tad bit out of my price range. More than 2x, ha.

mtbr member
    Jan 2012
    That's old geo bikes. Long chain stays and steep head tube angles from yesteryear.