Sore Forearms- Mtbr.com

Thread: Sore Forearms

mtbr member
    May 2020

Sore Forearms

Hello,

I'm relatively new to the All mountain scene, I picked up a commencal aggresive hard tail and was doing some more flow trails on the north shore. With my confidence growing on pace with my skill I'm now decending on blacks on fromme (7th, espresso) and am starting to have trouble. After the 1hr+ climb, the descends on the terrain are killing me on my hard tail. My forearms and quads are just destroyed, I understand death grip, but I cannot hold on any lighter or else I won't be able to steer the technical trails.

I was wondering, is this only because I'm doing downhill on technical trails and it should go away after I build up more endurance throughout the season?

As for my quads, did this happen to other people? did it go away? I've notice it dissipate a bit in the last few weeks but it's still present to where mid trail I have to take a break to rest both my arms and legs.

jcd's best friend
    Sounds like bad case of arm pump. It happens to just about anyone regardless whether the bike is full suspension or hardtail. You will want to start a training program to build up your muscles and build flexibility. I recommend linking up with Dee Tidwell and consider his training programs: https://enduromtbtraining.com/
    Cannondale Synapse Neo | Salsa Timberjack

since 4/10/2009
    There are also some equipment choices you can make to ease things up. That soreness is related to a few things.

Braking is a big contributor. The harder you're squeezing the brakes, the more you'll get arm pump. I've reduced it a LOT by moving to a big, burly brake on my Guerrilla Gravity Pedalhead. I've got Hayes Dominion A4's on that bike. Super easy braking effort with those.

Also make sure your suspension settings are working for the kind of riding you're doing. If you're fighting your suspension setup, that will make you fatigued faster.