Skills going backwards- Mtbr.com
    czm
    mtbr member
    Apr 2019

Skills going backwards

I am new to MTB, been on it for about six months now and enjoying it immensely.

When I first started I had no expectations or idea on what I was doing which actually resulted in some pretty decent runs on my local trials (Berms sections ect ect)
    However now I am more conscious of trying to improve times and increase skill level to do things ďbetter/by the bookĒ I feel (and the times I am getting support this) like my I am going backwards.

As an example which I would really like help/advise with: It seems on tight corners/berms I cannot get round without over shooting the corner and going badly off line, itís like I canít get tight enough. I am getting low with the dropper down but it feels I am leaning backwards really badly in the process Ė would that explain it?

Any help would be greatly received

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by czm View Post
    It seems on tight corners/berms I cannot get round without over shooting the corner and going badly off line
    Go slower.

czm
    mtbr member
    Apr 2019
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr Pig View Post
    Go slower.
    Thanks, it does seem however that i sometimes struggle to keep on line even at low'ish speed?
    Its feels like I am fighting the gravity/inertia of my body

mtbr member
    First off, stay loose and relax, you could be thinking so hard itís tensing you up and making it hard for your body to naturally make the necessary adjustments to rail those turns. Focus on turning your hips hard in the direction you want to go and keep your eyes further down the trail where you want to go. Upon entering the turn you should be looking at the exit. Itís amazing how much doing these two things can help.