Shock and fork replacement- Mtbr.com
    The Krazy Never Die

Shock and fork replacement

Hey so I have a 2004 specialized fsr xc i just started riding again for the first time in a year. My riding level has gotten to the point were I've been cruising pretty quick down some pretty rocky trails and I'm to the point were I'll looking to upgrade my forks again from my rock shox dart 1 to something say 140 mm travel and adjustibility on compression and rebound and my rear shock is still the original and is less the desirable anymore if my memory serves me correct it's 6.5x1.5. I'm lookin for something with more adjustabilty I don't do many large drops max out at maybe 18 inches but the terrian in my area is very rocky... I raced bmx when I was a teen so I can usually land relitivly smooth so I'm not super hard on the bike I'd just like the adjustibility in my shocks so I can try and keep the vibrations down so I don't fatigue my arms and legs as bad and also to help me keep in as much control as possible down our rock covered trails thanks everyone

mtbr member
    Sep 2009
    i dont think a 140mm fork is a good idea given that stock is 100mm.. it would mess with the geometry and put added stress on the head tube.

The Krazy Never Die
    So have I pretty much reached the limits of my bike and level of riding ??? Do I take the money for upgraded parts and put that towards a new bike? I like the frame I've got is there other options or have I Maxed out the abilities of this bike

mtbr member
    Sep 2009
    just get a nice fork with the same or close to the same travel. maybe something like this? http://www.jensonusa.com/store/produ...2+Fork+10.aspx

or http://www.jensonusa.com/store/produ...l+Fork+09.aspx

mtbr member
    I'm sure Fox has a fork or two that would work:

http://www.foxracingshox.com/bike/10/forks/32_F-SERIES
    Hey everybody, ride my wheels! They ride good, real good.
    I'm a wheel builder. SRLPE Wheel Works. Send me a PM.

mtbr member
    Oct 2007