Shin Pads?- Mtbr.com

Thread: Shin Pads?

mtbr member
    Mar 2010

Shin Pads?

Hi everyone,

I am relatively new to mountain biking and it is safe to say that I love it and am now addicted! I have been riding local trails regularly all spring and I am getting better, but I still take a fall here and there. I haven't really gotten hurt, but my shins are really taking a beating. I would definitely like to purchase some shin guards but I am not sure what I should be looking for, Most that I have seen are knee/shin combos, which seem like a bit of overkill to me as I have never hurt my knees. Are there any shin guards that are known to be better than others? I am assuming that the more you spend, the lighter, more sturdy they are but I really don't know.

Any help or recommendations would be great. Thanks!

mtbr member
    if you are riding mild singletrack with shin shieldz on, you look like a poser....if you are dropping 1-2 foot rocks, hopping logs, etc, on a consistent basis i think the shin shieldz are warranted...i get my legs sliced up by brush and rocks and shiz all the time...its part of the game....according to my opinion which does not matter to anyone, if you aren't wearing a full-face helmet, you don't need shin guards.

Let the rebuking begin!

mtbr member
    I got lizardskins for the tougher trails. They are good ones. I'm not really into slamming my shins all the time. When I do urban rides, I don't wear anything, but its a different story on trails.

I wouldn't worry about if some kid on the trial considers you a poser.

~Disc~Golf~
    clipless pedals
    Honestly... ahh I give up

pants on head retarded
    Clipless would solve a lot of shin-strikes from your pedals, but it is a new learning curve.