Same Injury Every Time!- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Feb 2007

Same Injury Every Time!

So I have been out on the trails about 5 times now and everytime i come back with the same injury. It seems like everytime i have some kind of fall or quick stop, the front chain ring takes a couple good slices out of the back of my leg. This last time it got me pretty good and im tired of this. It isnt something that I can control like just kick my leg out farther, it happens in random falls and such, which I have a good bit of as im just starting out. I ride on the road a lot so I use the third ring a good bit and dont want to replace it with a chian guard. Is there anything that I can put on the bike to protect myself or on myself to protect myself? Thanks for any suggestions.
    David

I post too much.
    Quote Originally Posted by davidws
    So I have been out on the trails about 5 times now and everytime i come back with the same injury. It seems like everytime i have some kind of fall or quick stop, the front chain ring takes a couple good slices out of the back of my leg. This last time it got me pretty good and im tired of this. It isnt something that I can control like just kick my leg out farther, it happens in random falls and such, which I have a good bit of as im just starting out. I ride on the road a lot so I use the third ring a good bit and dont want to replace it with a chian guard. Is there anything that I can put on the bike to protect myself or on myself to protect myself? Thanks for any suggestions.
    David
    There are shin guard out there that wrap around the whole leg, this may help a lot in protecting your calves. I do not wear any so I can't recommend any brand. I think there is a thread somewhere on the first page of the downhill and freeride board about pads right now.

mtbr member
    Apr 2007
    I am new as well, wouldnt a bash guard help? I want one for my motobecane 400ht but have no clue which to get (size mostly).

The Martian