Saddle position- Mtbr.com

Thread: Saddle position

Apr 2004

Saddle position

I'm new to the sport and am having a hard time with my seat. On long rides it gets pretty uncomfortable. I really like the sport and wish to continue riding. Is there hope for a comfortable ride? Any suggestions on saddle positions?

Apr 2004
    I've read (in Ned Overend's book) that ideally you should have the seat horizontal or tilted slightly forward and positioined so that when your feet are on the pedals at 9 o'clock and 3 o'clock, your front leg has a 90 degree bend in it. He also says to set the seat height at 80% of your inseam as measured from the bottom bracket to the top of the seat. hope that helps

Apr 2004
    Thanks for the tip! I also hear that it helps to point the nose of your saddle down a bit to help eleviate some of the discomfort. I bought a shock absorber seat post and that has helped the ride somewhat. Just want to be able to father children some day!

Feb 2004
    Quote Originally Posted by BikerRob
    Thanks for the tip! I also hear that it helps to point the nose of your saddle down a bit to help eleviate some of the discomfort. I bought a shock absorber seat post and that has helped the ride somewhat. Just want to be able to father children some day!
    Take it from me Rob, keep that saddle nose up, sharp and hard. Fathering children has a massive negative effect on the money you have available for gear acquisition as well as seriously eating into your available trail-time.

Apr 2004
    Quote Originally Posted by Al Heeley
    Take it from me Rob, keep that saddle nose up, sharp and hard. Fathering children has a massive negative effect on the money you have available for gear acquisition as well as seriously eating into your available trail-time.
    Isn't that what your wife is for?? Not to worry, that won't be for a while! Still got a lot of adventures to embark upon first.

Jan 2004

My two cents