rode riding?- Mtbr.com

Thread: rode riding?

mtbr member
    Aug 2009

rode riding?

Thinking about a bike like this.
    http://www.trekbikes.com/us/en/bikes/bike_path/fx/75fx/

First of all, I hate riding on the road, but I can understand training benefits to it. I was thinking about getting some smooth tires for my old (15 years old) trek that way I can put it on a trainer, or ride on the roads. and have a general purpose bike. Then I saw this bike, and I just think the bike looks cool. I know that is pretty stupid reason, but I would really consider getting this bike. How durable are the tires on a bike like this? Trek considers it a bike path bike, but does that mean paved bike paths only, or can it do smooth gravel too? My wife used to ride road bikes, and see always talks about how gravel will tear the tires, I have no knowledge with them and find that hard to believe. There is no way I could ride a bike if I could take off and go through a grave parking lot, or screw around a little on.

AZ
    banned
    Why not a cyclocross bike ?

pants on head retarded
    I'm interested in cross bikes as well... I'm considering one to use as a commuter (bike path to work isn't perfect and there's a short dirt stretch) and potentially dropping slicks on to try out triathalons this summer on something a bit quicker than my mountain rig.

The bike linked looks like slick tires and a solid fork on what otherwise looks to be a mountain bike, somebody will correct me if I'm wrong. So, dropping slicks on your old bike would serve a similar purpose. A cyclocross bike on the other hand is more of a burly road bike with knobby tires.

A problem with skinny tires offroad is they won't stay on top of gravel, you will sink in and increase wear on the soft sides of the tire and your rims.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by rockyrunner99
    Thinking about a bike like this.
    http://www.trekbikes.com/us/en/bikes/bike_path/fx/75fx/