Riding downhill with loose rocks?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    May 2012

Riding downhill with loose rocks?

I moved back to Waco and finally got to go out and ride Cameron Park, this being my first time on a real trail outside my parent's land. The ride was great, but my biggest issue I can't seem to do right is riding down a steep slope with lots of small loose rocks on the trail. I don't have the courage to go down it fast and with the loose rocks I slide if I use the brakes. I know to move back and down on the bike. I just don't quite have the skills down to ride a steep downhill fast, especially with loose rocks. Any tips?
    2012 Trek Marlin 29er

mtbr member
    I am just a beginner at the mountain thing this year myself. I ride the local power line that has tons of loose gravel and some steep slopes. The first few times I went down some of the grades I tried to hold my speed with the brakes and almost crashed. Now I just pick the best line I can and let her rip. It's amazing how much better it goes if you don't try to hold the bike back.

Gcappy

mtbr member
    Apr 2010
    It sounds like you know the general technique, you just need to develop your skill. Find some hills that are shorter or less steep and start practicing. Or, start at the bottom of this hill and walk up however far you're comfortable, then come back down. Keep going further up as you master it.

empty beer member
    Try to not lock up your wheels with the brakes. Squeeze the brakes just enough to slow you down but keep your tires rolling to maintain control. Also, lower your saddle on the downs to help you to be able to get over the rear tire and don't be scared if the back tire buzzes your butt.
    Special Processed American Meat

mtbr member
    Aug 2012
    wear protection and dont be in a hurry, increase the speed as you feel more comfortable.

Just Ride