Replacing fork on Trek 4300- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

New question here. Replacing fork on Trek 4300

Hello all,
    Somewhat new to the forums. I have a Trek 4300 which I really love. I should have waited one more month to save up a little more to get the 4500 though because the front fork can be a little annoying. I would like to upgrade the front fork to a Rock Shox. I saw two Judy models on pricepoint for $100 and $150. I am really looking to get rid of the bouncy feeling from the front. My questions are:
    A. Is there any thing I should know before I purchase? Sizes or what not?
    B. Is the install as straightforward as it looks?
    C. Are these forks worth the upgrade or should I save a little more.

I am not dropping off boulders or really doing any downhilling. I mostly ride my bike to and form work (I am a teacher, so I have to keep it in my classroom LOL). Some light trail riding and riding around the horrible roads in my small country town (a lot og gravel, worn asphault, nothign smooth or nice).

mtbr member
    Jan 2004
    Buy a maintenance book. While replacement isn't rocket science(your size headtube is likely 1 1/8inch) you have to make sure you do it right and writing it all here is a pain.

mtbr member
    Since that is your answer, can you recommend a good maintenance book? Perhaps then I can avoid asking questions altogether to help you avoid any pain.

How about opinions on the forks? Will that be in the book?

mtbr member

I have a 4500 and my wife has a 4300, so I've rode both of them. I'm new to MTB, so take what I say knowing that I don't know what I'm talking about.

In my opinion, and FOR ME the two models ride over bumps about the same. I'm fairly light and while the RST fork on the 4300 is not as stiff as the judy TT that comes with the 4500, the real benifit with the 4500 is the slightly better components in the drive line and the wheels.