Redline D440 Or Gary Fisher Marlin?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Nov 2009

Redline D440 Or Gary Fisher Marlin?

I am getting back into riding (never was too serious - I had a Gary Fisher Marlin I rode around in New Orleans that got stolen a few years back) and am looking for a bike to share duty as a 50% road (leisure rides with the kids) and 50% trail riding. The trails I am going to be riding on primarily are the Hooper Road trails in Baton Rouge, LA. Here are some photos of the trails.

https://images.google.com/imgres?img...a%3DN%26um%3D1

My question is this - for this type of riding, should I go with the Redline D440 (rigid) or a Gary Fisher Marlin? Or something else? Jamus Durango 1 maybe? Rockhopper?

I have zero knowledge of and experience with 29 wheels / rigid frames but I am liking what I am reading about the D440. Would a rigid fork suit me for the type of riding I intend to do? Or do I need a hardtail?

Any input or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. I'm looking to buy a bike this weekend and be riding shortly thereafter.

mtbr member
    Oct 2009
    Well Let me start off that usually you would want a front fork with a little travel on it if you want to ride trails that have alot of bumps, rocks, roots, and other things.

A hardtail marlin would be great for street/ modest trail riding. I wouldnt reccomend a rigid front fork, although many people do use them. It really makes it easier on your wrists and back if you have a soft fork.

Now if you are interested in a 29er, i would reccomend test riding one before you buy it, due to the fact that they do ride differently that a standard 26" bike

mtbr member
    May 2009
    I started with a D440 and haven't looked back. The only time I wished for a suspension for was over washboard type roots. For road riding a rigid fork will also give you a bit more efficiency. efficiency

mtbr member
    Jul 2003

Your choice on that one...