Question about bike size- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

New question here. Question about bike size

Hey-

This is a cross post from the clydes forum. I thought it may be more suited for here.

I'm pretty new to riding. Well riding reguarly that its. Been riding single track and some light DH every weekend for the last few months and decided that I needed to upgrade from my KHS ALITE 500.

I ended up getting a 04 Kona Coiler today. I love the way the thing rides, but it's a 19 inch frame and everything I've read, including the manual just now said a dude my size (5' 11 240#) should be more around the 17". When standing on both feet, the tob tube is firmly up in my sack and my feet aren't even fully planted on the ground. .. Guy at LBS said I should be fine, but I wanted to get some other feedback about possible problems of having a bike thats a bit too big. The manual said that the top bar needs be about 2 inches below my crotch and it's definitely not.

I fear that I may have to take it back today and have them order another one, because the only other size they had was a 15"

Thanks Much!

mtbr member
    Apr 2004
    Bike size, in the end, comes down to personal preference. However, if standover clearance doesn't allow your feet to touch the ground it may be too large. For what it's worth I'm 5'11" and ride a 17" hardtail. Actually looks small for me due to the geometry but it fits like a glove.

Domestic Fowl