Pedaling out of the saddle- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

Pedaling out of the saddle

I've been riding regularly for five years, but only recently decided that I need to stop being a lazy rider and improve my riding technique. One of the items my skills improvement list is pedaling out of the saddle.

I am a spinner all the way. It's gotten to the point that I'll stay seated and spinning on the flats over minor roots and obstacles. I hate standing that much. I also know that ditching this aversion to standing will make me faster and smoother. At first I thought that practice would make perfect, and tried standing a lot more while I ride my training loop (a 1.2 mi pump track with no elevation change at all in Houston), but I was wrong. I've found that I'm more jerky in my transitions, and when I'm tired I get my center of gravity too far forward of my bottom bracket.

What do you guys think? How do I improve my technique? I don't want to ride out of the saddle all the time, but I don't want to wreck just because my calves are jello and I'm supporting myself too much with my arms.
    "So let's recap here:
    You asked a question.
    You got an answer.
    You proceed to make an ass out of yourself."

T.W.O.
    Work on your core it would help smoothing out the transition and keep your cadence smooth as well. It's much easier to stand on a SS because you are in a less torquey gear.

mtbr member
    Yep, Mimi is right.
    Ride a SS or a rigid, or at least pump up your psi way up, you'll stand more. Sometimes I'll lower my saddle all the way to force/remind me to stand. Sometimes just for training/technique I'll ride a full hour or 2 out of saddle.
    Round and round we go

T.W.O.
    Quote Originally Posted by theMeat View Post
    Yep, Mimi is right.