mtbr member
    Mar 2008

Ok, how about this sub-$400 bike?

Hi,

Still questing for a sub-$400 bike, came across an ad for a Trek 6700 for $300. Here's the description:

Comes with bottle holder, CicloMaster computer, New Shimano Deore XT rear derailer, Shimano Deore front derailer, Rock Shox Judy C front suspension, and the rest of the parts are Bontrager (cranks, seat and seat post, tires and wheels, handlebars and bar ends). It is a medium (fits someone about 5'8'' to 6'1'').
    He says it's been professionally maintained at a bike shop. Great shape with some scuffs.

Any thoughts on buying a used bike? Being a newb I wouldn't know what to look for, and the description of the parts mean nothing to me.

Thanks,

Paul

mtbr member
    Is this the bike?

http://www.bikepedia.com/QuickBike/B...6700&Type=bike

If so you're looking at a 7 year old bike with original MSRP of $879. Based on your description, doesn't sound like it's had many upgrades except for maybe the rear derailleur.

I would say $300 is reasonable if it's in good shape, and ready to ride. But you have to be careful with used bikes. If it needs a tune up, that's going to be $50 at a shop. Then the biggest thing to watch out for is a worn out drive train. If the drive train is worn out it'll need a new cassette, chain, and at least new middle front chain ring. That will run you about $100 in parts plus installation. So find out when these parts were last replaced, and if they have never been replaced watch out. If you test ride the bike, and everything isn't perfect, I wouldn't get the bike.

mtbr member
    Feb 2005
    How old is it and who is selling it to you?
    If you're not falling, then you're not riding fast enough!
    Ibex Asta Pro SE & Giant XTC-2

mtbr member
    Mar 2008
    I e-mailed the guy for more details. Thanks for the tip on what to look for. If I hear back from him I'll post the reply.

Paul

mtbr member
    Mar 2008
    Quote Originally Posted by baraant