Numb Hands after 15 minutes of riding...- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Jun 2010

Numb Hands after 15 minutes of riding...

Noob here. Just started riding this bike .

I feel fine except after 15 minutes or so of riding, my hands go numb. I take them off and shake them out, but that only last for 5-10 minutes after the initial numbing. I assume too much pressure on my hands. Any ideas on what I can adjust to help this? I am 6' 3", 220lbs. Thanks.

PMBA Beer Guy
    Take a look into Ergon grips. They helped me, and I have a slight case of carpel tunnel.
    Board Member Philadelphia Mountain Biking Association (http://www.phillymtb.com)

Dirt Abuser
    A front shock would help... there are other posts here on the Ergon GP1 grip. Helped my hands and wrists.
    "Don't ride faster than your guardian angel can fly"

mtbr member
    Jun 2009
    Also try using well padded gloves. Ususally DH & AM bike gloves have pretty lofty padding for the palm.

Fort Valley = Gnarl Fest
    I eexperienced this on my road bike. the solution was padded gloves as a band-aid and to correct my body position... not using my hands to "hold myself up" but using my core muscles to maintain my body position.
    "It sucks because that's what Boxxers of that generation were good at." -- XSL_WiLL

mtbr member
    My list of suspects, in order of likelihood, would be:

1. Lack of front suspension. (Makes a world of difference!)
    2. Seating position. You might be putting too much weight on your hands. This could be arising from any combination of frame size (top tube ("cockpit") too long), handlebar height (too low), stem length (too long). Even the seat height play into it.
    3. Bad grips or lack of padded gloves.
    Looking for local rides? You'll find plenty on my website: Bay Area Mountain Bike Rides.

mtbr member
    Jun 2010
    Quote Originally Posted by erginguney
    My list of suspects, in order of likelihood, would be:

1. Lack of front suspension. (Makes a world of difference!)