Noob!

Nooob Here! Introduction, a story and a question or two?

Here's my story..... It was a dark cold night...no wrong story sorry.

Hi my name is Chris Decker I live in Platte City, MO just north of Kansas City. In April of 2008 I weighed a astounding 436 lbs! Yes that says 436 not a typo. I had Gastric bypass surgery on May 19th 2008. Here it is New Years Eve Eve and I weigh 245lbs. Yep trying to get to 200-220. But enough about my weight. I am 30 yrs old and decided in June I was going to take up mountain biking. I went out and bought a 2007 Cannondale F4 at LBS (Cycle City) it was of course last years model so I got what I believe was a good deal. The bike also seemed to fit me well ( I was still ~380) I have only done a couple of things to it. I changed the seat out to a little larger seat. The pedals had to go I put on a bigger alum platform pedals with cleats ( I have large feet).

I started riding the paved trails around my neighborhood a few times just to get used to the bike. Heck it had been almost 15 yrs since I rode a bike. Well My buddy is a trail rider. He took me to Shawnee Mission Park to ride the "Easiest trails near me." Remember I hadn't rode in 15 yrs and never on trails. But I liked it, I fell once or twice and had to walk a bit but liked it. Of course it wasn't too exciting for him but we had a good time. The next place we went was called Landahl Park this has some very technical spots. (To say the least). We started on the trail and was about 5 mins into riding when I went down hard for the first time. Falling at Shawnee was nothing it was just falling down sideways. This was full on moving fast coming to a dead stop and over the handle bars I went. I picked myself up bushed myself off and went on. All I thought about the next hour was dang this Mtbing is hard stuff. We then went to a rocky section by the firing range if any of you have been to Landahl. I fell again this time bending my der cage on a rock. Me not know jack about bikes push