mtbr member

New question here. New to sport, looking for some accessory advice

Hi guys, great forum here been poking around for hours now.

Im just getting into the sport, i picked up a 2 year old EX7 to start out with as my 'first real bike'. I'll be biking with my g/f whos been doing it for years as well as some family.

while the bike is being tuned up at the shop id like to consider some accessory's for it and would like to hear recommendations while keeping in mind its my first set up and im a total novice.

Id like Bar Ends (i used to ride with them in high school) but im getting a lot of flak about putting them on, is that a no no for trails?

Im going to start off with clip ins right off the bat, any recommendations there?

id also like a computer for the bike, but ive never had a full suspension bike before and shes already calling me a nerd! but the Geek in me would really like to have some 'data' while riding. do you guys use computers on your bikes?

the bike is at a reputable local shop, is there anything else i should be 'aware of' or items i should look into?
    (helmet obviously) or maybe full body armor
    Trek Fuel EX7
    - Riding Allaire and Hartshorne NJ parks

mtbr member
    Oct 2008
    Bag the bar ends. I used to be the biggest fan, but in '98 I got talked into going with a little wider riser bar instead. Bingo. There was a good segment of "Ask Chopper" from "Bike" magazine on that topic a few months ago and he provided some more technical support on this.

Regarding your pedals; I have been riding Time ATACs for over ten years and they are bomber. Great performance in any conditions and they take a beating and work like new for a long time. Plus, there is a fair platform for the times you are not clicked in.

No computer here. Just ride and have fun.

Negative on the body armor - you will get to hot.

Definitely gloves - I like half fingers for the air flow.