new member in SF- Mtbr.com
    mtbr rememberer

new member in SF

hello all!

name's james and as you might be able to tell by my handle that I like old time radio. I'm also an avid hiker and camper, longboard skater, and have recently been getting my tacoma truck dirty off the pavement.

I haven't ridden a mountain bike in years, but am getting back into it. a buddy from college started riding a cannondale road bike and after I rode it I wanted to get back into some pedaling action.

I haven't found a bike yet, but I've talked to a guy at mikes bikes in san rafael and ridden a few bikes to get a sense for size and feel.

the two bikes i narrowed down to were a specialized hardrock disc and a cannondale f8. the specialized had better components (according to the rep, as I am a total newb), but I could tell the cannondale was lighter.

I'm looking to get into an entry-level bike for moderate trails, fire roads, urban (SF city and parks), and wherever i go off roading in my truck. I've been searching the net for days for info and found this site and have been reading a lot (I also post on ttora, expedition portal, vwvortex...). Based on what I've gathered, the two bikes i mentioned above seem about right, but any pointers would be accepted. going to be checking out the LBS's near me before I pull the trigger.
    I just wanted to join so I could use your search.

Cheers,

Old man on a bike
    Had to google to appreciate your handle, sounds like a fun show to check out and will...got any episodes to watch out for? Welcome aboard (and to bay area mountain biking). Would that be the Hardrock Disc Pro or Comp?
    "...the people get the government they deserve..."
    suum quique

mtbr rememberer
    any 'yours truly' episode with edmond o'brien is pretty good. there are over 800 episodes spanning two decades.

the hardrock I looked at was a pro model.

I am going to another LBS today to check out some more bikes and year end deals.

AZ
    banned