New here and to mountain biking- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Jul 2014

New here and to mountain biking

Hello guys I'm new to mountain biking and riding but it looks fun. I've already found a riding area near me called sugar loaf so I'm planning to check that out. I do have a couple questions about the bike I purchased. It's a 1991 diamond back axis. I was told some parts were added to it but not sure what. If anyone can give me some insight on this bike that'd be great or also Any tips for trail riding that I might need to know.

mtbr member
    Apr 2010
    I'd get some platform pedals and maybe a new seat.. And ride it til you're ready for a new one and you can transfer those over to the new bike. And tips for riding? Don't fall too hard and get a patch kit and frame pump at the minimum.

Sent from my 831C using Tapatalk

mtbr member
    Yes, get better pedals to inspire confidence in your new sport. Don't have to be spendy, most bike shops have plastic platform pedals that are large and simulate the pins found on pricier pedals. They grip great and are cheap. I wouldn't suggest a new seat unless the one you have is not comfortable.

Clean the grips with some carburator cleaner. They will become grippy again. If you know you can do more than a half hour on the trail, get a seat pack and throw a spare tube, tube repair kit, two plastic tire irons, and a bike multi-tool in it. You'll also want a tire pump, the ones that bolt behind a water bottle are great. Trust me when I say walking sucks... every half-hour down a trail can be a two hour walk out, and it's not like backpacking when you're dragging or carrying a disabled bike.

Make sure the brakes and deraillers are adjusted properly, then go for it! You've got a great starter trail bike that will get you on your way.