Topanga Rider

New Guy, New Bike, Long Intro.

Hey my name is Tim, im a fire fighter for the US Forest Service in Northern California (Redding) and i love bikes!

Well to start off with im not new to biking but i am new to mountain biking, i raced BMX for many years growing up and loved every min of it.

To keep my self in shape during the winter me and a few buddys have taken up mountain/trail riding. Ive been borrowing/riding a Specialized Hardrock (my moms) but am getting a Diamondback Topanga for xmas.

The msrp on the bike was close to $700 (parents got it for $400 on xmas sale) so im going to assume that is is pretty good quality. From what ive seen it seems to be a good beginer bike, hard tail, disc brakes, decient front fork/shock. Any one know forsure of have any first had experience?

So, i plan on getting more and more into this sport and plan on upgrading the hell out of this bike, where should i start? I was thinking of pedals to start off with, i ran clipless on my BMX bike but i dont think thats where i want to go with this so if any one has a suggestion for a really good peddal ("shin killers") that woudl be great. Also i might upgrade the mechanical disc brakes to hydrulic or a better mechanical but i will have to have some saddel time before i decide that. Fork will have to be replaced, ide like some good quality and some good travel but at a decient price (not made of gold).

Im on pleanty of other forums so i know the search tool will be my right had man but if any one has any particular advice for this bike that could help me that would be great, thanks!

Oh and i cant seem to find this bike on the Diamondback site, could it be sold under a different name, it looks kinda like the Diamondback "Comp" but im not totally sure. I still dont have the bike (not till xmas...) so i cant compare.

Probably drunk right now

My 2 cents...

Quote Originally Posted by PieRow