Thread: New guy.

mtbr member
    Mar 2008

New guy.

Hi, so I am new if you couldn’t tell. I have been in other hobbies for a wile (like the username implies) and am looking for a change up. Really wanting to get into mountain biking.

I need a bike recommendation I am open to almost any brand. I've been looking at the Diamondback mission 3 but I am a noob and don’t really know what is out there. I am mostly riding dirt roads (as cross country stuff) and moderate trails (ruff climbs and really rough down hills) but I would like to start riding more. Any downhill I ride I have to ride up first, so I need a good climber. I want to start getting into "free ride" or "all mountain" even though I am in Huntsville, TX and there are no mountains near me. I do like to go down any down hill I can find as fast as I can go and I love stairs. I would also like to try and do bunnyhops to just to see if I can.
    Last edited by hpi savage guy; 03-28-2008 at 01:13 PM.

mtbr member
    Nov 2006
    Jamis makes really good bikes for the price. They spec them out pretty nice. I don't how much your budget is but i can make some suggestions. Just for info, if you want to get a decent FS for what your talking about than you would be spending over $1000, i know that sounds like a lot but in a FS its definitly worth it. I would suggest the Jamis Parker I. This is their new line of park, slope style bike. It replaces the Dakar XLT from last year which i think was an awesome bike. With the Parker you get 4 inches of rwheel travel thats a pretty standard XC travel. the front fork RS Recon U-Turn. so you can go from 85mm/3 in (climbs) to 130 mm/ 5 in (decents) with a few turns of a dial. The frame is a pretty sturdy since it was built for more progessive riding. You get a triple ring crankset. It retails for $1350, same as the DAKAR XLT from last year. go check out www.jamisbikes.com to check out some more options.

XCfosho15
    HPI Savages are cool.

Rod
    mtbr member