New To Commuting (MTB Conversion?)- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Dec 2010

New To Commuting (MTB Conversion?)

We finally moved to a location where I can bike commute. Commute is short, 6 miles or so round trip, so its hard to justify a big Dedicated Commute Bike expense.

Thus I am looking to convert my old MTB to a commuter bike and could use some advice. I am not a bike techie (yet) so its all a bit mysterious to me.

MTB is a 1997 or 1998 Gary Fisher Big Sur (Medium). Bought it new when I was in college and its been with me since.

I selfishly would like to be able to quickly transform it from Commute Mode to Trail Mode (nothing serious).

So, what I am thinking is to :

1) replace the fork with a light suspension fork (Spinner Aeris?) that has a lockout, the idea being that when I am commuting I can lock it for efficiency and when I want to go to the trail I can unlock it (or dial-it down) and get some rebound.

2) Pick up a set of thinner road wheels and tires (26") that I can quickly swap on and off.

My thinking is I can do these two things and get a tune-up for around $400 or so (not the best components) and be off to the races with a hybrid-like bike.

What do the experts think? Should I just suck it up and spend $700+ on a new bike to commute with?

local trails rider
    Lots of people do what you suggest.

I have a couple of different bikes and the one I use for commuting just has tires that work well on pavement. I might put a rigid fork on it at some point.

When swapping wheels, the cassette and brake setups need to be pretty identical between the wheels (particularly with disc brakes). A MTB rim can take a wide range of tire widths. I think you mainly run into bike handling issues when trying to use a tire that is way too big for the rim.

"it IS possible that you are faster or slower than anybody else who is having at least as much if not more or less fun"

mtbr member
    Dec 2010