New-Bee in need- Mtbr.com

Thread: New-Bee in need

mtbr member
    Oct 2008

New-Bee in need

I have been riding big box store Mongoose for a little over a year. Resently I got my hands on a 97 Gary Fisher Marlin. Of course it is in poor shape. Not horrible but needs some TLC. Local bike store charges more than I can afford to make the changes that I want, so being pretty handy myself I am going to take this on myself. I own a Trek 1200 road bike that is about to be on ebay to finance a rebuild of the Marlin. The Marlin is stock. My question is what size fork do I want to purchase? By that I mean is it a 1inch or 1 1/8. Also how do I know how long of a steering tube that I need? Do you guys recommend changing to a threadless headset? Any and all suggestions are welcome.

^ That's what I do
    First of all, welcome to the forums. I'm pretty new to mountain biking too (only been doing it a few years) and this place has been a big help to me.

As for your bike, what you really mean by fork is what's called a headset. It's the little thing that lives inside your bike's headtube (the short vertical tube on your frame that the fork comes out of). The fork attaches to the headset, which attaches to the stem, which attaches to the handlebars (kinda like the leg bone's connected to the knee bone ).

I looked up your bike on BikePedia, and it says you need a 1 1/8" headset. I don't know if that's a threaded or threadless headset.
    '08 Specialized Rockhopper 29er (modified)

No good in rock gardens..
    According to Bikepedia the headset is 1 1/8" but it appears to be a threaded type. Most forks now are threadless, so if you want a modern fork you'll need to install a threadless headset.

http://www.bikepedia.com/QuickBike/B...rlin&Type=bike

Steerer length - a ballpark figure would be to measure the head tube of the frame and add another 3" to allow for a headset at stem.
    Less isn't MOAR

mtbr member
    Feb 2008